REPAIR Your Life: A Program for Recovery from Incest & Childhood Sexual Abuse , Marjorie McKinnon
[Sponsored Ad]
       Advanced Search
 search by genre:
display only ebooks  audiobooks display only ebooks  audiobooks  
  search within genre:

   REPAIR Your Life: A Program for Recovery from Incest & Childhood Sexual Abuse - Price: $19.95    

by Marjorie McKinnon, ISBN: 978-1-932690-52-1
Click Here to Purchase/Contact

R.E.P.A.I.R. is a Six-Stage Program for abuse survivors that will transform your life forever!
• Recognize and accept your adult problems stemming from childhood sexual abuse.
• Enter into a commitment to transform your life.
• Process your issues with tools and techniques that will enable you to become healthy.
• Awareness to discover reality as you gather and assemble the pieces of the broken puzzle your life became.
• Insight into the complete picture helps you begin to return to what you were prior to being sexually violated.
• Rhythm recovers the natural rhythm you had before the incest happened, the blueprint that is the essence of your true nature, becoming who you really are.

[ Rate Book ]  [ Report Listing ]

Biography :

Marjorie McKinnon, a survivor of incest, is the author of thirteen books. Her first two books, “REPAIR Your Life” and “REPAIR For Kids”, were published by the Loving Healing Press. Both are programs for recovery from child sexual abuse. She is also the founder of The Lamplighters, a movement for recovery from incest and child sexual abuse that emphasizes the importance of REPAIRing the damage. There are currently 40 Lamplighter chapters in five countries. The Lamplighter website is at

Book Review :

"REPAIR Your Life: A Program for Recovery from Incest & Childhood Sexual Abuse" by Marjorie McKinnon is an easy-to-follow guide to enable those abused to head down the path to recovery. She states "the purpose of this program is to send you into the world with useful tools for recovery. You will not read this book and get healed immediately. It contains exercises as well as thought-provoking questions that will plant seeds. These seeds will turn into blossoms, giving you direction and guidance in a world that at times will seem dark." (p.27) McKinnon, however, is not a therapist, and unlike some of the professionals in the field, she had been abused and has had a successful recovery. What better person to learn from than one who has been through the same situations and has gone through the journey of recovery with positive results?

Her own recovery was approximately a five-year process, and from her experiences, she developed the REPAIR program based on the steps and techniques that worked best for her. REPAIR consists of six different stages: Recognize, Enter, Process, Awareness, Insight, and Rhythm. McKinnon devotes a chapter to each stage in an attempt to successfully guide the reader through the transformation process.

The information in the book is presented in a direct manner, which is very easy to comprehend. The writing does not consist of a lot of technical terms hard for the average person to understand. The book is written by a regular person, and intended for an average, regular person to read. It is a book that would be beneficial to anyone who has suffered from sexual abuse, anyone who knows someone who has been abused, and those individuals who deal with victims on a regular basis.

(Reviewed by Kam Aures for RebeccasReads)

Other books you might be interested in:

Surviving a House Full of Whispers
101 Tips For Survivors of Sexual Abuse: A Pocket Book of Wisdom
Recovering The Self: A Journal of Hope and Healing (Vol. II, No.3)
Healing With Words: A writer's cancer journey

[Sponsored Ads]
Place Your Ad Here

Tell us about yourself

My bookhitch Experience